Italian Regions and Capitals: How many are there? What are they called?

In Italy, there are many regions and capitals, but not everyone knows them or remembers how many there are and what they are called. For this reason , in this article, we are going to see them all, starting from Southern Italy and, gradually, moving up to the North!

  The 20 Italian Regions and the respective capitals

Ok, the first region of the list, which divided from the rest of the peninsula, is:

  • Sicily which has the city of Palermo, founded back to 734 B.C. by  the Phoenicians, as its capital.

Moving further north we can find:

  • Calabria with its wonderful beaches and its capital: Catanzaro.

On the border with the “Calabria” region, we can find:

  • Basilicata that has Potenza as its capital which is famous for system of ancient and modern stairs that connect the various areas of the urban centre to each other. Currently the escalators of the city of “Potenza” boast the record in Europe for extension and come second in the world only after Tokyo!

But now let’s move to:

Continuing our trip, we can find:

  • Campania with Naples, as its capital, the city where the delicious pizza was invented! Of course, there’s so much to see and discover like the Vesuvius or Spaccanapoli!

If we move to Central Italy, we find:

  • Molise with its capital Campobasso, which is famous for the Castello Monforte (Monforte castle) and the  Cattedrale della Santissima Trinità!
  • Abruzzo has L’Aquila as its capital, which is mainly renowned for the Basilica di Santa Maria di Collemaggio (St. Mary of Collemaggio Basilica), but also for the events related to the earthquake happened in 2009.
  • Lazio, where we can find as its capital, and capital of Italy as well , Rome! Among the most important monuments we can mention: Colosseo (Colosseum),  la Basilica di San Pietro (St. Peter’s Basilica), la Fontana di Trevi (Trevi Fountain) and the Pantheon.
  • Marche with Ancona as its capital, a city which is mainly famous for the Mole Vanvitelliana, a pentagonal building located on an artificial island, that was originally used as leper colony for those people who were affected by contagious disease, like plague.
  • Umbria with its capital: Perugia, an absolutely amazing city with its old town full of art and historic buildings like the  Palazzo dei Priori and the Fontana Maggiore (Main Fountain)

In Northern Italy, there are:

  • Firenze, capital of  Tuscany. Even in this case, if you want to deepen the knowledge of this astonishing city, take a look at our video on our trip to Florence.
  • Liguria with Genoa as its capital and the famous Lanterna (Lantern) and Acquario (Aquarium)
  • Friuli-Venezia Giulia that has Trieste as its capital with the famous Piazza Unità d’Italia (Unity of Italy Square)
  • Veneto where the capital is one of the most popular tourist destinations: the legendary Venice, which is famous for the canals, gondolas and Piazza San Marco (St. Mark’s Square)
  • Trentino-South Tyrol  with Trento as capital which is renowned, among other things, for its impressive Castello del Buonconsiglio (Buonconsiglio Castle)
  • Lombardy that has Milan as its capital, a city which is protagonist of another amazing video in with we show you what you must see and do.
  • Piedmont with Turin and the Mole Antonelliana.
  • Aosta Valley with Aosta as its capital, which is located in the valley, completely surrounded by mountains

In conclusion, we have the most beautiful island in the world:

  • Sardinia with Cagliari, a city that’s perfect to spend an amazing and relaxing holiday!

Alright, these are our capitals. But, now, let us know, in the comment section, the regions of Italy you have been to and what your favorite region is. Furthermore if you want to know more about regions, you can start by watching our video on the typical dishes of every region.

One thought to “Italian Regions and Capitals: How many are there? What are they called?”

Leave a Reply